The species lineage of crocodilians is about 240-280 million years old.  The current 24 species on earth, which includes Central America’s American crocodile, Morelet’s crocodile, and Spectacle Caiman, are about 80 million years old.  Throughout their range, crocodiles are considered keystone apex predators as they are important for keeping the prey population healthy and in balance, as well as providing rich nutrients to their aquatic environments through their excrements which helps the aquatic ecosystems flourish.  They are also considered eco-landscapers as their holes and old nests can provide shelter or even become watering holes for other animals.  
Come back to this page soon, as we will be adding Fact Sheets on the three crocodilian species in Central America, as well as an educational pamphlet on how to live with crocodiles!”

Spectacled Caiman

Spectacled Caiman (Caiman crocodilus) – The Spectacled Caiman has a wide geographic range, which includes Southwest Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua,...
Read More
Learn More

Morelet’s Crocodile

Morelet’s Crocodile (Crocodylus moreletii) – The geographic range of the Morelet’s crocodile extends from southern Mexico,Guatemala, and Belize. They live...
Read More
Learn More

American Saltwater Crocodile

American Crocodile (Crocodylus acutus) – The geographic range of the American crocodile extends from the southern part of Florida down to...
Read More
Learn More

You are donating to : Crocodile Research Coalition via Collective ConSERVation

How much would you like to donate?
$25 $50 $100
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note